City & Town News Home
The original item was published from 9/1/2020 4:07:24 PM to 9/1/2020 4:28:31 PM.

City & Town News

Home - News Carousel

Posted on: September 1, 2020

[ARCHIVED] 2020 League Service Awards


2020 League Service Awards

PHOENIX – Local elected officials were recognized this morning by the League of Arizona Cities and Towns for their years of service to their communities.

Award recipients were recognized during the League Annual Business Meeting on Tuesday, September 1.

Due to COVID-19, the League of Arizona Cities and Towns cancelled its in-person 2020 conference but is holding some of its most popular recurring sessions to help members stay in the loop virtually through the AZ League Conference Week.

The League recognizes service award recipients each year at its annual conference and awards are bestowed upon mayors and councilmembers who have served their communities for eight, 12, 16, 20, and 28 years of service.

Elected officials who received an 8-year service Award: 

Barbara Ahmann, Vice Mayor, Clifton
Aaron Allen, Vice Mayor, Thatcher
Joseph Allred, Mayor, Colorado City
Jeni Coke, Councilmember, Lake Havasu City
John Crane, Vice Mayor, Carefree
Sam Crissman, Councilmember, Wickenburg
Maria Cecilia Cruz, Vice Mayor, San Luis
Jon Edwards, Mayor Pro Tem, Peoria
Arturo R. Garino, Mayor, Nogales
Sammy Gonzales, Mayor, Miami
Rachel Gray, Mayor Pro Tem, Sierra Vista
Julia R. Gusse, Councilmember, Maricopa
Bryce Hamblin, Mayor, Eagar
Brent Hatch, Councilmember, Show Low
Jacque Hendrie-Henry, Vice Mayor, Coolidge
Michelle Hess, Councilmember, Buckeye
Judy Howell, Councilmember, Winslow
Jeffery Jessop, Councilmember, Colorado City
Connie Kakavas, Councilmember, Show Low
Royce Kardinal, Vice Mayor, Wickenburg
John Martinez, Vice Mayor, Sedona
Donna McCoy, Councilmember, Lake Havasu City
Winslow McNeill, Councilmember, Eagar
Luis Montoya, Mayor, Clifton
Bill Patena, Councilmember, Peoria
John O. Phelps, Councilmember, Eagar
Micah D. Powell, Vice Mayor, Eloy
Christian Price, Mayor, Maricopa
Anita Romero, Councilmember, South Tucson
Matias Rosales, Councilmember, San Luis
Ray Shelton, Councilmember, Douglas
Tara Walter, Mayor, Florence
Ray West, Councilmember, Clifton
Andrea Wood, Mayor, Patagonia

Elected officials who received a 12-year service Award: 

Mike Black, Councilmember, Miami
Kelly Blunt, Councilmember, Wickenburg
Jeff Brown, Councilmember, Queen Creek
Marvin L. Brown, Councilmember, Maricopa
Kathy Bruck, Councilmember, Bullhead City
Gary Coon, Mayor, Star Valley
Darryl Dalley, Former Mayor, Miami
Richard Dehnert, Vice Mayor, Clarkdale
Coral Evans, Mayor, Flagstaff
Skip Hall, Mayor, Surprise
Nubar Hanessian, Councilmember, Nogales
Bill Hawkins, Councilmember, Florence
Matthew Herman, Councilmember, Casa Grande
Suzanne Klapp, Councilmember, Scottsdale
Mary Kortsen, Councilmember, Casa Grande
Marshall Losey, Councilmember, Winslow
Frank McNelly, Councilmember, Williams
Joel Navarro, Councilmember, Tempe
Jon Post, Vice Mayor, Marana
John Romack, Councilmember, Litchfield Park
Gerardo Sanchez, Mayor, San Luis
David Shapera, Councilmember, El Mirage
Fernando Shipley, Councilmember, Globe
Gloria Torres, Councilmember, San Luis
Anna Tovar, Mayor, Tolleson
Ken Weise, Mayor, Avondale

Elected officials who received a 16-year service Award: 

W.J. “Jim” Lane, Mayor, Scottsdale
John W. Moore, Mayor, Williams
Daryl Seymore, Mayor, Show Low
Sheila Stephenson, Councilmember, Kearny
Jerrel “J.W.” Tidwell, Councilmember, Eloy
Doug Von Gausig, Mayor, Clarkdale

Elected officials who received a 20-year service Award: 

Robin Boyd, Councilmember, Winslow
Mark Mitchell, Former Mayor, Tempe
Debra Sommers, Mayor, Kearny

Elected officials who received a 28-year service Award: 

Bob Rivera, Mayor, Thatcher

Facebook Twitter Email